view basket | bookmark | home | contact
    J S Bach Organ Works Volume I
    The ‘Eighteen’ Chorale Preludes, BWV 651–668 2 disc set at special price


    Catalogue Number: REGCD232

    Price: £15.32 (inc VAT) / £12.77 (ex VAT)
    Option: N/A
    Stock Status: In-Stock


    Bach Organ Works Volume I

    Margaret Phillips
    1734–37 Christoph Treutmann organ,
    Klosterkirche, Grauhof, Germany.

    sample whole series on YouTube

    The first recording by a British artist and recording company on one of the most important eighteenth-century organs in Europe. This large 3 manual instrument contains more original pipework than virtually any other organ of a similar size from the period and is set in a glorious acoustic.


    “Gary Cole at Regent, who has always been a master in the refined art of capturing an organ on disc, ambience and all, seems to have excelled himself.... these are organ recordings par excellence.....Listening to this disc is a real aural delight. Phillips is certainly an uncannily vivid and perceptive interpreter......Some of the finest performances of Bach Chorale preludes on disc.”

    International Record Review, reviewing REGCD232 & REGCD254


    2 CD set at special price
    Total playing time: 117:29

    CD 1 (55:23)
    The ‘Eighteen’ Chorale Preludes, BWV 651–668,
    1 Fantasia super Komm, Heiliger Geist BWV 651 (6:04)

    Komm, Heiliger Geist BWV 652 (8:55)
    An Wasserflüssen Babylon BWV 653 (4:49)
    4 Schmücke dich, o liebe Seele BWV 654 (6:15)
    5 Herr Jesu Christ, dich zu uns wend BWV 655 (3:34)
    6 O Lamm Gottes, unschuldig BWV 656 (7:46)

    Nun danket alle Gott BWV 657 (4:11)
    Von Gott will ich nicht lassen BWV 658 (3:57)
    9 Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland BWV 659 (4:35)
    Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland BWV 660 (2:25)
    11 Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland BWV 661 (2:50)

    CD 2 (62:06)
    The ‘Eighteen’ Chorale Preludes, BWV 651–668

    1 Allein Gott in der Höh’ sei’ Ehr BWV 662 (7:21)
    2 Allein Gott in der Höh’ sei’ Ehr BWV 663 (5:57)
    3 Allein Gott in der Höh’ sei’ Ehr BWV 664 (4:51)
    4 Jesus Christus, unser Heiland BWV 665 (4:38)
    5 Jesus Christus, unser Heiland BWV 666 (3:21)
    6 Komm, Gott Schöpfer, heiliger Geist BWV 667 (2:15)
    7 Vor deinen Thron tret’ ich BWV 668 (4:52),

    Canonic Variations on Vom Himmel hoch, BWV 769a (11:49)
    8 Var 1: Canon all’Ottava (1:35)
    9 Var 2: Canon alla Quinta (1:18)
    10 Var 3: Canon al rovescio (3:05)
    11 Var 4: Canon alla Settima (2:21)
    12 Var 5: Canon per augmentationem (2:55)

    The ‘Schübler’ Chorale Preludes, BWV 645–650
    13 Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme BWV 645 (3:58)
    14 Wo soll ich fliehen hin BWV 646 (1:44)
    15 Wer nur den lieben Gott lässt walten BWV 647 (3:23)
    16 Meine Seele erhebt den Herren BWV 648 (2:06)
    17 Ach bleib bei uns, Herr Jesu Christ BWV 649 (2:41)
    18 Kommst du nun, Jesu, vom Himmel herunter BWV 650 (3:21)

    ...the excellent quality of the sound recording; Margaret Phillips’ impeccable playing; and last, but not least, the beautiful organ used’ Goldberg *****,

    This is an impressive recording from the first note to the last’ Choir and Organ *****

    Acknowledged as one of Britain’s leading concert organists and teachers, Margaret Phillips studied at the Royal College of Music in London. She made her début at the Royal Festival Hall in 1972 and soon gained an international reputation as a soloist, playing at cathedrals and concert halls throughout Europe and in the U.S.A., Australia and Mexico. She has appeared frequently as a continuo player and accompanist with such ensembles as the BBC Singers and The Sixteen, and her CD recordings have been widely praised.

    Regent Records | PO Box 528 | Wolverhampton | WV3 9YW      Tel. 01902 424377 | Fax. 01902 717661

    © Copyright Regent Records Web Site Design Company : eCommerce Software Shopping Cart Solutions