view basket | bookmark | home | contact
    Orgue Héroïque
    Scott Farrell, Organ of Rochester Cathedral


    Catalogue Number: REGCD507

    Price: £10.00 (inc VAT) / £8.33 (ex VAT)
    Option: N/A
    Stock Status: In-Stock


    Orgue Héroïque
    Scott Farrell
    Organ of Rochester Cathedral

    ‘Here we have a real blockbuster programme, perfectly executed with great aplomb and sensitivity. Organ management is effortless and crescendi and diminuendi are seamless.’
    Organists’ Review March 2018 

    'With a lineage dating back to 1791, the much re-worked Rochester Cathedral organ has clearly benefited from new Swell reeds in its 2016 refurbishment. In situ since 2008, Scott Farrell puts the instrument through its paces with obvious relish in this recital of popular virtuoso works.'
    **** Choir and Organ Jan/Feb 2018

    ‘ The Howells and Jongen are thrilling performances and sound wonderful. This is a keeper.’
    American Record Guide March 2018

    ‘An enjoyable disc, but do adjust your equipment to cope with the wide dynamic range '
    Cathedral Music I 2018

    ‘ is above all in the truly heroic works that Scott Farrell’s mastery of organ and acoustic provide assured and impressive results. ’
    Church Music Quarterly September 2018



    Mars, the bringer of war (from The Planets)
    – Gustav Holst, transcribed Arthur Wills         7:11

    Come sweetest death, come blessed rest
    – Johann Sebastian Bach, arr Virgil Fox         7:21

    Pièce Héroïque – César Franck         9:04

    Epitaphe (No 4 of 24 pièces en style libre, Op 31)
    – Louis Vierne         7:02

    Sonata in A major, Op 65, No 3 – Felix Mendelssohn
    i Con moto maestoso         7:48
    ii Andante tranquillo         2:29

    Rhapsody in C sharp minor, Op 17, No 3
    – Herbert Howells         8:02

    Nimrod (from Enigma Variations)
    – Edward Elgar, arr William Harris         5:16

    Sonata Eroïca – Joseph Jongen         16:13

    Total Playing time: 70:30

    Regent Records | PO Box 528 | Wolverhampton | WV3 9YW      Tel. 01902 424377 | Fax. 01902 717661

    © Copyright Regent Records Web Site Design Company : eCommerce Software Shopping Cart Solutions