view basket | bookmark | home | contact
    Christmas from Saint Louis
    The Saint Louis Chamber Chorus, Philip Barnes


    Catalogue Number: REGCD373

    Price: 12.77 (inc VAT) / 10.64 (ex VAT)
    Option: N/A
    Stock Status: In-Stock

    Download from iTunes


    Christmas from  Saint Louis
    The Saint Louis Chamber Chorus
    Philip Barnes

    Download or stream

    ‘the Saint Louis Chamber Chorus, the excellent soloists, and the conductor deserve the highest accolades.’ American Choral Journal August 2012

    ‘…the confidence, verve and sensitivity with which this 50-strong a cappella chorus sing is impressive’ Gramophone December 2011

    'Under their British-born conductor, Philip Barnes, the Saint Louis Chamber Chorus makes a deliciously homogenous sound, the members singing as if with one voice. Their a cappella programme features several pieces by American composers (including ‘It came upon the midnight clear’ to its original tune and ‘We three kings of Orient are’), and is built around music by Virgil Thomson. There are several pieces on the disc that were written for the Chorus, including Martha Shaffer’s charming If ye would hear the angels sing, New Zealander Clare Maclean’s intricate Susannine, Yakov Gubanov’s The garden of roses, Sasha Johnson Manning’s Two Tree Carols, and David Bednall’s From heaven above to earth I come, a work that explores a variety of moods in its eight minutes. If you want a Christmas disc that offers something rather different from the usual repertoire, this is ideal.' Church Music quarterly

    Joseph and the Angel (Scenes from The Holy Infancy I)
    Virgil Thomson (Missouri, USA) 3:59
    It came upon the midnight clear#  Richard Storrs Willis (USA) 3:49
    Ye sons of men*  Patrick Zuk (Ireland) 5:02
    If ye would hear the angels sing* Martha Shaffer (USA) 2:36
    The Lord at first did Adam make Philip Barnes (UK) 4:13
    O little town of Bethlehem# Lewis Redner (USA) 3:20
    Susannine* Clare Maclean (New Zealand) 5:46
    O my deir hert Virgil Thomson 2:01
    Away in a manger# James Murray (USA) 1:51
    The crown of roses Peter Tchaikovsky (Russia) 3:11
    The garden of roses* Yakov Gubanov (Russia) 4:54
    Two Tree Carols*  Sasha Johnson Manning (UK)
    The tree of life 4:23
    Christbaum 5:29
    The wise men (Scenes from The Holy Infancy II) Virgil Thomson 4:39
    Hostis Herodes* Guillaume Dufay/Martha Shaffer 8:13
    We three kings# John Henry Hopkins, Jr. (USA) 3:43
    The flight into Egypt (Scenes from The Holy Infancy III) Virgil Thomson 4:44
    From heaven above to earth I come* David Bednall (UK) 7:45

    # American carol, sung to original American tune

    Total playing time: 79:36
        * written for the Saint Louis Chamber Chorus

    Regent Records | PO Box 528 | Wolverhampton | WV3 9YW      Tel. 01902 424377 | Fax. 01902 717661

    Copyright Regent Records Web Site Design Company : eCommerce Software Shopping Cart Solutions