view basket | bookmark | home | contact
    Paul Carr, Organ of St Chadís Cathedral, Birmingham


    Catalogue Number: REGCD384

    Price: £12.77 (inc VAT) / £10.64 (ex VAT)
    Option: N/A
    Stock Status: Out-Of-Stock

    Order from Presto Classical


    French  Flavours 
    Paul Carr,
    Organ of St Chad’s Cathedral, Birmingham 

    “ French Flavours is a veritable ‘menu degustation’, accompanied by no shortage of fizz. Prepare to hear more notes on one CD than most recording artists would spread over several! The assured virtuosity of Paul Carr’s fiery performances is astounding”             Editor’s Choice Organists’ Review December 2012


    “Throughout, the excellent tone of the three-manual Walker organ is shown off in all its glory: an instrument which Paul Carr has known since student days. There is plenty to transport you across La Manche, culminating in an astonishing run of Eugène Reuschel’s toccata-like Nuages which is as thrilling a conclusion to this recital as is its start.”

    Church Music Quarterly June 2013


    The first solo recording of the magnificent Walker organ in St Chad’s Cathedral, played by Birmingham-based organist, Paul Carr, in his début recording.

    A brilliantly-colourful programme of French and French-inspired works, chosen to match the distinctively-Gallic character of the St Chad’s organ.

    1    Ouverture Libanaise – Naji Hakim (b.1955) (8:28)
         Toccata and Fugue in F sharp minor (from Le Tombeau de Marcel Dupré)
          – Gerald Hendrie (b.1935) (7:40)
     2    Toccata (4:11)
     3    Fugue (3:29)
    4    Esquisse No 1 in E minor, Op 41 no 2 – Marcel Dupré (1886-1971) (2:48)
    5    Esquisse No 2 in B flat minor, Op 41 no 3 – Dupré (4:08)
    6    Trumpet Tune – Henry Purcell (1659-1695), arr Dupré (2:40)
    7    March (from The Love of Three Oranges)
          – Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953), transcribed Jean Guillou (b.1930) (2:00)
          Daphnis et Chloé (2nd Suite)
           – Maurice Ravel (1875-1937), trans David Briggs (b.1962) (16:57)
    8    Lever du jour (5:59)
    9    Pantomime (6:11)
    10  Danse Générale (4:47)
    11   Variations on Greensleeves – David Briggs (7:38)
    12   Hungarian March – Hector Berlioz (1803-1869), trans WT Best (1826-1897) (4:54)
    13    Scherzo (from Douze Pièces) – Gaston Litaize (1909-1991) (3:44)
    14   Nuages ensoleillés sur le Cap Nègre (from Promenades en Provence)
            – Eugène Reuchsel (1900-1988) (2:53)

    Total Playing time: 63:51

    Regent Records | PO Box 528 | Wolverhampton | WV3 9YW      Tel. 01902 424377 | Fax. 01902 717661

    © Copyright Regent Records Web Site Design Company : eCommerce Software Shopping Cart Solutions